my virtually social life

These days FB composes your social life.

Here is a snapshot of my FB news feed as I write this.

A nice link to a great guitarist -wow I like this. Good start.

One of my friend has commented on a non-friend’s post complaining something. I sympathize but not interested. Why is this there? It has 38 comments and 3 likes.

Another friend of mine whom I have not met for ages is congratulating another non-friend for a (rare) feat. Me unmoved. It has 5 likes and 2 comments.

Another (yet another) friend comments on (yet) another non-friend’s post on the recent England-India test match. I am interested. Great. But I have a totally different opinion. But I don’t know this non-friend and I do not feel free to express myself on this. It has 17 likes and 5 comments. Time to scroll down.

One friend likes another friend’s post and link. OK, good. I am not opposed to this. Democracy.

One friend gives a link to a study in (of) bad design. Nothing much is clear from the post. This might have interested me during the day. But not at 945PM. I may like to see this tomorrow (or perhaps not). Can I set this to show up tomorrow. Some jugaad might do the trick. But I do not have heart. Crossing out this post is possible. It seems too violent. Besides this friend has liked his own post. Scroll.

Yet another friend of mine has posted a heavy post on life. There are 2 likes and 7 comments. The subject is so profound that a simple ‘like’ might seem flippant. There are heavier comments. It is 949 PM now. I want to say ‘grrrr’ but stay calm. And there is no ‘dislike’ button. My dislike would be not for the thought but for the ungodly hour when it hits me.

One of the above friends is out with a PJ. It has 10 likes.

A friend comments on a non-friend’s photo. The photo has 50% blue (reddish) and 50% green(ery). It inspires wow’s and other superlatives. 1 like and 2 comments. Helpless. Down.

And where has that interesting conversation vanished? How do I get to it?

I am grateful  -tonight I do not have my friends’ friends’ pets or family photos greeting me.

I rub my eyes. I should have been more careful about my FB friends. But what are so many non-friends doing here on my (is it mine?) page?

I am glad that I can listen to music of my choice, I can fold away newspaper and put down down a book. I can get up and run. I can sit down and drum away (not at this time). I can drink with my friends (not really, not for quite a while)

Never mind the zero likes and zero comments for these activities.

Leave a Reply

